The evaluator's guide

Social media AI tools: how to judge one, then nine compared

Seven questions to put to any vendor page, then nine tools scored against them on their own pricing pages, by a company that sells one of them and prints that before the table.

Read this before the list

Start with the conflict: we build SpeedRun Social, it is one of the nine tools below, and the seven criteria are ours, written around the job we built the product for, so of course our row clears them. That is exactly why the criteria come before any tool is named and why the table prints every cell. Strike the rows you do not need and the order changes; the point of the page is that you can do that yourself.

Every figure about another company was read from that company's own pricing page or one of its own feature pages on 8 September 2026, and each one links back to the page with the date beside it. Where a page did not say, the cell says so rather than guessing. Nothing is restated from another list, a review site or an AI answer, and no tool was scored on a bench test, because none was run. AI for social media is a category whose vendor pages blur what the product makes and what it merely schedules, so each criterion is written as the plain question to ask of a page.

Ranking follows the count in the table: how many of the seven criteria a tool clears, ties broken by the lowest monthly figure printed on its pricing page. The count rewards one job, a small business that needs the post made, checked and published, and it will rank AI tools for social media differently from a list built for an agency or a creator. Several verdicts still send you to a rival, because for some jobs a rival is the right buy, and a page that never says so is an advertisement.

What a social media AI tool must do for a small business

Seven questions, each with the line to look for on a vendor's pricing or feature page. The table below scores every tool against them.

  1. It makes the post, not just the slot

    Does the tool produce the caption and the picture, or does it hand you a calendar and wait for both?Look for: A generation allowance on the plan card, stated as credits, images or videos a month. A card that lists only channels and scheduled posts is describing a scheduler with a writing assistant bolted on, however the headline reads.

  2. It starts from your business, not a blank prompt

    What does the tool know about you before the first draft exists?Look for: A line about reading your website, or a brand kit that is built for you rather than a form you fill in. If onboarding is a prompt box, every post begins from nothing and the average of the industry fills the gap.

  3. Image and short video are in the same plan

    Is media generation on the plan you are pricing, or is it a second subscription or a separate credit pool?Look for: Image credits and video credits on the same plan card as publishing. A tool that writes captions on the cheap plan and makes pictures on the dear one has answered the question for you, and so has a page that never mentions either.

  4. An approval queue is the default

    If you never open the tool this week, what goes out?Look for: Wording that says drafts wait for a person unless you switch automation on. Approval that appears only on a higher tier is a feature you pay for; approval that is the default is a safeguard you cannot forget to buy.

  5. It publishes natively, Google Business Profile included

    Which networks are on the list, and is the business profile among them?Look for: The platform list on the pricing or home page, read to the end. Many tools name the big consumer networks and stop, and the profile that shows up beside the map result is the one a local business cannot afford to skip.

  6. The free plan is permanent, not a trial

    Does the free thing end?Look for: A free column with no day count beside it, plus two smaller lines: whether a card is asked for, and whether free output carries a watermark. A trial with a date is a demo, and a demo tells you nothing about the week you forget to log in.

  7. One flat price covers the job

    What is the cheapest plan that makes, checks and publishes the post, and is it a flat monthly figure or a multiplier?Look for: Per channel or per user in the small print beside the price. A flat figure is the number you will pay. A multiplier is the number you will pay once, before the accounts and the seats are added up.

The nine tools against the seven criteria

Every cell was read from the vendor's own page on 8 September 2026. Where a page did not say, the cell says so. The count at the end of each row is the order of the list below.

Tool1 Makes the post2 Reads your site3 Image and video4 Approval default5 Publishes, with GBP6 Permanent free plan7 Flat priceCleared
SpeedRun Social(ours)YesYesYesYesYesYesYes7 / 7
Predis.aiYesPartialYesPartialYesNoYes5 / 7
SocialBeeYesYesPartialPartialYesNoYes5 / 7
ContentStudioYesPage did not sayYesPartialYesNoYes4.5 / 7
BlazeYesYesPartialPartialPartialNoYes4.5 / 7
BufferPartialPage did not sayPage did not sayPartialYesYesNo3 / 7
SocialPilotPartialPage did not sayPage did not sayPartialYesNoYes3 / 7
LaterPartialPage did not sayPage did not sayPartialNoNoYes2 / 7
HootsuiteYesPage did not sayPartialPartialPage did not sayNoNo2 / 7

Yes counts one, partial counts a half. Ties are broken by the lowest monthly figure printed on the vendor's pricing page. Hover any cell for the line it was read from, or open the sources below.

Every cell's source, row by row

SpeedRun Social

  1. 1. Makes the post: Yes. Captions, images and short video come out of one plan; there is no separate media subscription. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Yes. Setup reads your website into a brand kit: services, colours and photography pulled in, so generation starts grounded in your business rather than in a blank prompt. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Yes. Captions, images and short video come out of one plan; there is no separate media subscription. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Yes. Publishing is native to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X (Twitter), TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, and WordPress, and the approval queue is the default until you deliberately switch autopilot on. speedrunsocial.com/ai-social-media-manager-for-small-business, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Yes. Publishing is native to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X (Twitter), TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, and WordPress, and the approval queue is the default until you deliberately switch autopilot on. speedrunsocial.com/ai-social-media-manager-for-small-business, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: Yes. One free campaign a week of 3 posts, 1 short video and 1 cross-post, plus 300 credits a month refilled forever. Brand Kit included, no card asked for, and media generated on the free plan is watermarked. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. Free at $0. Starter at $49.99 a month, Growth at $99.99 and Pro at $199.99, each about a fifth less billed annually. There is no quote-only tier above Pro. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

Predis.ai

  1. 1. Makes the post: Yes. On 8 September 2026 the home page headline read "The AI Ad Generator for Video Ads, UGC, & Image Ads", generating video ads, UGC videos, image ads, reels and social posts in over 19 languages, with hundreds of variations of one ad in minutes. predis.ai, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Partial. A brand is set up by uploading your logo, brand colours, tone of voice and key messaging, and the home page says those are then applied across every format; reading your website was not stated. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Yes. Core carries 1,300 credits a month, which the page translates to about 86 images or 9 videos, and publishes to 10 channels; Rise carries 3,200 credits and 20 channels. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. The pricing page lists Google Business Profiles among the publishing channels and Approval Workflow Tools among the team features; whether approval is the default was not stated. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Yes. The pricing page lists Google Business Profiles among the publishing channels and Approval Workflow Tools among the team features; whether approval is the default was not stated. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No free plan appeared in the pricing table; the page offered a trial instead: "We offer a free trial to make sure you can experience the platform before committing to any paid plans." predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. The pricing page listed Core at $24 a month billed yearly ($288 a year) or $32 a month billed monthly, Rise at $55 yearly ($664) or $79 monthly, and Enterprise+ at $212 yearly ($2,540) or $249 monthly. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

SocialBee

  1. 1. Makes the post: Yes. Every plan card lists "Unlimited AI content generation", and the home page says it will "Generate posts, captions, images, and hashtags with AI"; video generation was not stated on either page we read. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Yes. Copilot is described as learning "about your business from your website or a quick chat", then building a strategy, a content plan and ready-to-edit posts. socialbee.com, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Partial. Every plan card lists "Unlimited AI content generation", and the home page says it will "Generate posts, captions, images, and hashtags with AI"; video generation was not stated on either page we read. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. The "Post approval system" is listed from Accelerate up and is not included on Bootstrap. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Yes. It publishes to 10 platforms: Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Bluesky and Google Business Profile. socialbee.com, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No free plan; a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, no contracts and a 30-day money-back guarantee. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. The pricing page listed Bootstrap at $29 a month billed monthly ($24.20 a month billed yearly, $290 a year), Accelerate at $49 ($40.80) and Pro at $99 ($82.50), with agency tiers at $179, $329 and $449 a month billed monthly. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

ContentStudio

  1. 1. Makes the post: Yes. Standard carries 25,000 AI text credits, 25 AI image credits and 100 AI video credits a month on one plan card, rising to 50,000, 50 and 200 on Advanced. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Page did not say. Nothing on either page described reading your website into a brand kit; the agent is said to know your brand, but how it learns it was not stated. contentstudio.io, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Yes. Standard carries 25,000 AI text credits, 25 AI image credits and 100 AI video credits a month on one plan card, rising to 50,000, 50 and 200 on Advanced. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. White label is a paid add-on at $50 a month or $500 a year, and approval workflows with no-login client review are listed on Advanced and Agency Unlimited, not on Standard. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Yes. Publishing covers Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Telegram and Google Business Profile. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No permanent free plan; the plans carried a 7-day free trial with no credit card required. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. The pricing page listed Standard at $29 a month ($19 a month billed annually, $228 a year), Advanced at $69 ($49, $588 a year) and Agency Unlimited at $139 ($99, $1,188 a year), with a custom Enterprise tier billed annually. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

Blaze

  1. 1. Makes the post: Yes. Organic content runs across social, blog, email newsletters and Google My Business, and the page says every approved piece publishes automatically across connected channels at the optimal time. blaze.ai, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Yes. A Brand Kit is built from your website, past content and answers to a few questions, and the pricing page says every workspace carries its own. blaze.ai, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Partial. Starter includes 3 posting accounts and 600 credits a month, Growth 10 accounts and 1,500 credits; the page prices AI video at 15 credits and did not state an image allowance. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. The pricing page says "You review, approve, and direct every step" and, on the same page, that "content will start autoposting if accounts are connected", so review is a step you take rather than a gate that holds by default. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Partial. The home page names Google My Business among the organic channels, while the pricing page places Google Business Profile under the All-In-One tier; which of the two self-serve plans includes it was not stated. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No free plan; a 7-day free trial with "No credit card required". blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. The pricing page listed Starter at $79 a month and Growth at $149, with an All-In-One managed tier at $999 a month; no annual rate was printed on the page we read. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

Buffer

  1. 1. Makes the post: Partial. The AI Assistant is described in words only: "Brainstorm ideas, rewrite content, and craft platform-specific posts." buffer.com, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Page did not say. Nothing on the home page described a brand kit or reading your website into one; drafting starts from what you type into the assistant. buffer.com, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Page did not say. Image and video generation were not stated on any plan card on the pricing page, and the home page did not mention either; the media is yours to bring. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. Content approval workflows are listed under the Team plan and not under Free or Essentials, so review is a tier you buy rather than a default you inherit. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Yes. The home page reads "Your social media workspace" and names Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Google Business Profile, Bluesky and Mastodon as channels. buffer.com, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: Yes. The free plan is a plan rather than a trial: up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 1 user and 100 ideas, with the AI Assistant included; the 14-day free trial the page mentions applies to the paid plans. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: No. The pricing page listed Free at $0, Essentials at $5 a month per channel, printed as $60 billed yearly, and Team at $10 a month per channel, printed as $120 billed yearly, with the page stating that you only pay for the channels you use. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

SocialPilot

  1. 1. Makes the post: Partial. AI Pilot is pitched at generating engaging content and is metered at 500 credits a month on Essentials; image and video generation were not stated on either page we read. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Page did not say. Nothing on the home page or the plans page described a brand kit or reading your website into one. socialpilot.co, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Page did not say. AI Pilot is pitched at generating engaging content and is metered at 500 credits a month on Essentials; image and video generation were not stated on either page we read. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. Manager approval starts at Standard and client approval at Premium; Essentials carries neither. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Yes. Bulk scheduling is advertised at more than 500 posts at once, and the platform list names Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky, YouTube, Pinterest and Google Business Profile. socialpilot.co, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No free plan; every tier carried a free 14-day trial with no credit card required. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. The plans page listed Essentials at $30 a month ($25.50 billed annually), Standard at $50 ($42.50), Premium at $100 ($85) and Ultimate at $200 ($170), with a custom-priced Enterprise above them. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026

Later

  1. 1. Makes the post: Partial. AI is metered in small numbers: 5 credits a month on Starter, 50 on Growth and 100 on Scale, and the features named are a caption writer and ideas; image and video generation were not stated on either page we read. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Page did not say. Nothing on the pricing page or the home page described a brand kit or reading your website; the home page's AI is pitched at creator and campaign insight. later.com, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Page did not say. AI is metered in small numbers: 5 credits a month on Starter, 50 on Growth and 100 on Scale, and the features named are a caption writer and ideas; image and video generation were not stated on either page we read. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. A Content Approval Workflow and an External Comment Workflow are listed under Growth and Scale, not under Starter. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: No. The platform list on the pricing page ran Instagram, Facebook, Threads, Pinterest, TikTok, LinkedIn, YouTube and Snapchat; Google Business Profile was not on it. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No free plan appeared on the pricing page; every plan carried a 14-day free trial, and the words no credit card did not appear on the page. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: Yes. The pricing page showed Starter at $18.75 a month, Growth at $37.50 and Scale at $82.50, each labelled billed yearly with three months free; no monthly-billing figure was printed on the page we read. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

Hootsuite

  1. 1. Makes the post: Yes. Standard covers 10 social accounts, and every plan card carries the line "Generate posts and images with AI"; video generation was not stated on either page we read. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  2. 2. Reads your site: Page did not say. Nothing on the plans page or the home page described a brand kit or reading your website; the AI is pitched at answering questions from your social data and drafting posts. hootsuite.com, checked 8 September 2026
  3. 3. Image and video: Partial. Standard covers 10 social accounts, and every plan card carries the line "Generate posts and images with AI"; video generation was not stated on either page we read. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  4. 4. Approval default: Partial. "Review and approve content with your team" is listed under Advanced, the top named plan, and under neither Standard nor Professional. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  5. 5. Publishes, with GBP: Page did not say. The plans page named only Instagram, X and Facebook, in worked examples about account limits; Google Business Profile was not mentioned on either page we read. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  6. 6. Permanent free plan: No. No free plan. A free 14-day trial with no credit card required, and the page notes daily posting limits of 10 to 20 posts per organization during the trial, depending on plan. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  7. 7. Flat price: No. Plans are priced per user, billed annually, so every seat multiplies the bill before a single post is made. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026

The nine, ranked by how many criteria they clear

The order is the table's, not ours. Every claim below links to the vendor page it was read from, with the date we read it. Where a number matters to you, open theirs.

  1. SpeedRun Social

    our product7 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Getting the post made from your own website

    Ours, and it clears the table because the table was drawn around it: a business that needs the caption, the image and the short video made from its own website, held for a look, then sent to the profiles it already runs. That is the whole product. What it is not is a team inbox, a listening tool or an ad factory, and three of the rows below do those jobs better than we do.

    Pricing
    Free at $0. Starter at $49.99 a month, Growth at $99.99 and Pro at $199.99, each about a fifth less billed annually. There is no quote-only tier above Pro. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    One free campaign a week of 3 posts, 1 short video and 1 cross-post, plus 300 credits a month refilled forever. Brand Kit included, no card asked for, and media generated on the free plan is watermarked. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • Setup reads your website into a brand kit: services, colours and photography pulled in, so generation starts grounded in your business rather than in a blank prompt. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • Captions, images and short video come out of one plan; there is no separate media subscription. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • Publishing is native to Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, X (Twitter), TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Bluesky, Google Business Profile, and WordPress, and the approval queue is the default until you deliberately switch autopilot on. speedrunsocial.com/ai-social-media-manager-for-small-business, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • Media generated on the free plan carries a watermark; paid plans remove it. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • There is no shared social inbox and no listening tool; a team that lives in replies is better served by Hootsuite on this list. speedrunsocial.com, checked 8 September 2026
  2. Predis.ai

    5 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Ad creative in volume, in many languages

    Predis ties SocialBee for the most rows a rival clears here, because it makes the media and publishes it, and it does so in volume: hundreds of versions of one ad, resized per placement, in a long list of languages. If your calendar is paid campaigns that need fresh creative every week, it beats us and it is built for that pace. The brand is set up by upload rather than read from your site, and the headline says ads, not the Tuesday post.

    Pricing
    The pricing page listed Core at $24 a month billed yearly ($288 a year) or $32 a month billed monthly, Rise at $55 yearly ($664) or $79 monthly, and Enterprise+ at $212 yearly ($2,540) or $249 monthly. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No free plan appeared in the pricing table; the page offered a trial instead: "We offer a free trial to make sure you can experience the platform before committing to any paid plans." predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • On 8 September 2026 the home page headline read "The AI Ad Generator for Video Ads, UGC, & Image Ads", generating video ads, UGC videos, image ads, reels and social posts in over 19 languages, with hundreds of variations of one ad in minutes. predis.ai, checked 8 September 2026
    • Core carries 1,300 credits a month, which the page translates to about 86 images or 9 videos, and publishes to 10 channels; Rise carries 3,200 credits and 20 channels. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • The pricing page lists Google Business Profiles among the publishing channels and Approval Workflow Tools among the team features; whether approval is the default was not stated. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • The entry plan covers 1 brand; up to 4 brands start at Rise. predis.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • By its own headline it is aimed at ad creative rather than an organic weekly feed, and the home page names Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, LinkedIn and Pinterest for scheduling and autoposting from its calendar. predis.ai, checked 8 September 2026
  3. SocialBee

    5 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Evergreen libraries that repost themselves

    SocialBee's category system is the mechanism the rest of the list lacks: posts go into buckets, the calendar draws from the buckets, and the durable ones come back around on their own. For a business whose material stays true all year, that recycling beats making fresh posts every week, ours included. Copilot reading your website is a second row honestly cleared; the trade is that approval sits a tier up and video was not on the page.

    Pricing
    The pricing page listed Bootstrap at $29 a month billed monthly ($24.20 a month billed yearly, $290 a year), Accelerate at $49 ($40.80) and Pro at $99 ($82.50), with agency tiers at $179, $329 and $449 a month billed monthly. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No free plan; a free 14-day trial with no credit card required, no contracts and a 30-day money-back guarantee. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • Posts are grouped into categories and bulk-scheduled weeks at a time; evergreen posts reshare automatically and time-sensitive ones carry an expiry date. socialbee.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • Every plan card lists "Unlimited AI content generation", and the home page says it will "Generate posts, captions, images, and hashtags with AI"; video generation was not stated on either page we read. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • Copilot is described as learning "about your business from your website or a quick chat", then building a strategy, a content plan and ready-to-edit posts. socialbee.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • It publishes to 10 platforms: Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Bluesky and Google Business Profile. socialbee.com, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • One user per workspace on Bootstrap and Accelerate, with 5 and 10 profiles; teams of 3 start at Pro. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • The "Post approval system" is listed from Accelerate up and is not included on Bootstrap. socialbee.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  4. ContentStudio

    4.5 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Agencies that want their own name on the tool

    ContentStudio prices images and video on the same plan card as publishing, which few schedulers do, and wraps them in agency plumbing: white label, client sign-off without a login, one inbox. An agency running a roster of clients gets more from that than from us, and its own logo on the tool besides. A single business buying for itself pays for the plumbing and gets a thin image allowance on the entry plan.

    Pricing
    The pricing page listed Standard at $29 a month ($19 a month billed annually, $228 a year), Advanced at $69 ($49, $588 a year) and Agency Unlimited at $139 ($99, $1,188 a year), with a custom Enterprise tier billed annually. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No permanent free plan; the plans carried a 7-day free trial with no credit card required. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • Standard carries 25,000 AI text credits, 25 AI image credits and 100 AI video credits a month on one plan card, rising to 50,000, 50 and 200 on Advanced. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • On 8 September 2026 the home page read "The social media manager that never stops", with an AI agent that knows your brand, a discovery reader for blogs and newsletters, and one inbox for messages, comments and mentions. contentstudio.io, checked 8 September 2026
    • White label is a paid add-on at $50 a month or $500 a year, and approval workflows with no-login client review are listed on Advanced and Agency Unlimited, not on Standard. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • Publishing covers Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok, Pinterest, Threads, Bluesky, Telegram and Google Business Profile. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • Image credits are thin on the entry plan: 25 a month on Standard, alongside 5 social accounts. contentstudio.io/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • Nothing on either page described reading your website into a brand kit; the agent is said to know your brand, but how it learns it was not stated. contentstudio.io, checked 8 September 2026
  5. Blaze

    4.5 of 7 criteria

    Best for: One bill for the whole marketing function

    Blaze wants the entire marketing function: organic posts, ads, landing pages, reviews and a phone-answering agent, up to a tier where people run it for you. If you want one bill for all of it, more of the job is covered there than here. The reasons it does not clear the table are the ones a small business should read twice: autoposting starts once accounts connect, and the entry price sits well above ours.

    Pricing
    The pricing page listed Starter at $79 a month and Growth at $149, with an All-In-One managed tier at $999 a month; no annual rate was printed on the page we read. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No free plan; a 7-day free trial with "No credit card required". blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • On 8 September 2026 the home page led with "Marketing done for you" and five functions: organic content, paid ads, landing pages, reputation management and an AI SDR. blaze.ai, checked 8 September 2026
    • A Brand Kit is built from your website, past content and answers to a few questions, and the pricing page says every workspace carries its own. blaze.ai, checked 8 September 2026
    • Organic content runs across social, blog, email newsletters and Google My Business, and the page says every approved piece publishes automatically across connected channels at the optimal time. blaze.ai, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • Starter includes 3 posting accounts and 600 credits a month, Growth 10 accounts and 1,500 credits; the page prices AI video at 15 credits and did not state an image allowance. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • The pricing page says "You review, approve, and direct every step" and, on the same page, that "content will start autoposting if accounts are connected", so review is a step you take rather than a gate that holds by default. blaze.ai/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  6. Buffer

    3 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Scheduling what you already wrote, cheaply

    If the words are already yours and the photos are on your phone, Buffer beats us on price of entry and on the honesty of its free plan, which is a plan rather than a countdown. Its assistant rewrites and repurposes; nothing on either page makes an image. Pay per channel, add a channel, pay again, which is the small print the seventh criterion exists to surface.

    Pricing
    The pricing page listed Free at $0, Essentials at $5 a month per channel, printed as $60 billed yearly, and Team at $10 a month per channel, printed as $120 billed yearly, with the page stating that you only pay for the channels you use. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    The free plan is a plan rather than a trial: up to 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel, 1 user and 100 ideas, with the AI Assistant included; the 14-day free trial the page mentions applies to the paid plans. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • The home page reads "Your social media workspace" and names Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest, Google Business Profile, Bluesky and Mastodon as channels. buffer.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • The AI Assistant is described in words only: "Brainstorm ideas, rewrite content, and craft platform-specific posts." buffer.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • Content approval workflows are listed under the Team plan and not under Free or Essentials, so review is a tier you buy rather than a default you inherit. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • Image and video generation were not stated on any plan card on the pricing page, and the home page did not mention either; the media is yours to bring. buffer.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • Nothing on the home page described a brand kit or reading your website into one; drafting starts from what you type into the assistant. buffer.com, checked 8 September 2026
  7. SocialPilot

    3 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Many accounts per dollar

    SocialPilot sells surface area: accounts per dollar, bulk uploads in the hundreds, review management, and approvals for managers and then clients as you climb the tiers. An agency filling many calendars gets more room for the money than it would from us. The making of the post is not the product, and neither page said anything about images, video or reading your website.

    Pricing
    The plans page listed Essentials at $30 a month ($25.50 billed annually), Standard at $50 ($42.50), Premium at $100 ($85) and Ultimate at $200 ($170), with a custom-priced Enterprise above them. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No free plan; every tier carried a free 14-day trial with no credit card required. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • Connected accounts run 7, 15, 25 and 50 across the tiers, with 1, 3, 6 and unlimited users. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
    • Bulk scheduling is advertised at more than 500 posts at once, and the platform list names Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky, YouTube, Pinterest and Google Business Profile. socialpilot.co, checked 8 September 2026
    • Review management tracks and answers Facebook and Google Business reviews, with AI replies matched to the customer's sentiment. socialpilot.co, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • AI Pilot is pitched at generating engaging content and is metered at 500 credits a month on Essentials; image and video generation were not stated on either page we read. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
    • Manager approval starts at Standard and client approval at Premium; Essentials carries neither. socialpilot.co/plans, checked 8 September 2026
  8. Later

    2 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Creators and influencer campaigns

    Later has moved toward influencer campaigns and creator income, with scheduling and a link-in-bio tool beside them. A creator whose revenue runs through partnerships is better served there than here. A local business meets a small AI allowance, a per-profile posting cap, no free plan, and a platform list without the business profile that shows up beside the map result.

    Pricing
    The pricing page showed Starter at $18.75 a month, Growth at $37.50 and Scale at $82.50, each labelled billed yearly with three months free; no monthly-billing figure was printed on the page we read. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No free plan appeared on the pricing page; every plan carried a 14-day free trial, and the words no credit card did not appear on the page. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • On 8 September 2026 the home page led with "Unforgettable campaigns start with insight." and described influencer marketing built for creators, creator earning through Mavely, and social media management alongside them. later.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • The platform list on the pricing page ran Instagram, Facebook, Threads, Pinterest, TikTok, LinkedIn, YouTube and Snapchat; Google Business Profile was not on it. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • Starter includes 8 social profiles and 1 user, Growth 16 profiles and 2 users, and Scale 48 profiles and 4 users. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • AI is metered in small numbers: 5 credits a month on Starter, 50 on Growth and 100 on Scale, and the features named are a caption writer and ideas; image and video generation were not stated on either page we read. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
    • Posting is capped per profile below the top tier: 30 posts a month on Starter and 180 on Growth. later.com/pricing, checked 8 September 2026
  9. Hootsuite

    2 of 7 criteria

    Best for: Teams answering the internet together

    Hootsuite is the team product: inbox, assignments, listening, competitor tracking, with publishing almost a side effect. A team working social as a job will get more from it than from us, and we would not argue. It clears rows here because it generates posts and images on every plan; it loses the rest to per-seat pricing, no free plan, and approval kept for the top tier.

    Pricing
    The plans page listed Standard at $99, Professional at $199 and Advanced at $399, each per user a month billed annually, plus a custom-priced Enterprise; its FAQ said monthly billing is offered on the three named plans, but no monthly figure was printed. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
    Free plan reality
    No free plan. A free 14-day trial with no credit card required, and the page notes daily posting limits of 10 to 20 posts per organization during the trial, depending on plan. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it holds up

    • Standard covers 10 social accounts, and every plan card carries the line "Generate posts and images with AI"; video generation was not stated on either page we read. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
    • On 8 September 2026 the home page led with "Social moves fast. Hootsuite keeps you ahead.", pitching trend and competitor tracking, an inbox with message assignments and internal notes, and AI answers grounded in your own social data. hootsuite.com, checked 8 September 2026
    • "Review and approve content with your team" is listed under Advanced, the top named plan, and under neither Standard nor Professional. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026

    Where it does not

    • Plans are priced per user, billed annually, so every seat multiplies the bill before a single post is made. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026
    • The plans page named only Instagram, X and Facebook, in worked examples about account limits; Google Business Profile was not mentioned on either page we read. hootsuite.com/plans, checked 8 September 2026

What AI still gets wrong

Every tool on the list, ours included, fails these six ways. What differs is whether the tool gives you a check before the post goes out.

  1. It states a price or a service you never offered

    A model that has read a thousand plumbing sites knows what plumbers usually charge and usually offer, and it will fill any gap in your brand kit with the average. The fix is upstream: the kit lists your services and your prices, or it lists none and the drafts stay silent on both. Read every draft for the offer it makes before you read it for style.

    What AI social content can and cannot do

  2. It cannot vouch for a fact

    Review counts, before-and-after outcomes and anything a regulator watches in dental, med spa or legal work are claims the tool cannot verify, because it was not there. Treat every number and every promise in a draft as unproven until you have the proof in hand, and keep the proof where you can find it if someone asks.

    What AI social content can and cannot do

  3. It drifts off your voice on a busy week

    One post sounds like you; the ninth post in a week you never opened the tool sounds like everyone. A brand kit that holds tone, the phrases you refuse to use and the words you actually say is the only thing that stops the drift, so check whether the tool keeps one, whether it is yours, and whether you can edit it.

    What AI social content can and cannot do

  4. It produces a photo of a job that never happened

    A generated image of a finished roof is a picture of a roof, not of your roof, and a caption written over it will happily claim the job. Check the caption and the image together, never one without the other, and treat a generated photo as an illustration you may need to label rather than as a before-and-after.

    What AI social content can and cannot do

  5. It ignores platform limits unless the tool measures them

    Caption ceilings, hashtag caps and tag limits differ by network, and a draft written for one will be cut or refused by another. A tool that measures the draft against each limit before publishing earns a row of its own; until you have one, two free checkers do the job by hand.

    Check a draft against every caption ceilingCount the hashtags against the documented caps

  6. It publishes on schedule whether or not you looked

    Every failure above is harmless in a queue and public on a feed. The approval default in the fourth criterion decides which of the two you get, and it is the one setting to confirm before you connect an account, because it is the only one that covers the mistakes you have not thought of yet.

    What AI social content can and cannot do

What a tool grounded in your business produces

The second criterion in pictures: a post that starts from the business rather than from a blank prompt. Six trades, six demo brands, every caption and image as the pipeline made it.

Northwind Heating & Air

Demo brand

Generated post: a new outdoor AC condenser unit installed on a fresh concrete pad beside a house with neatly wrapped refrigerant lines and the old unit already removed, headline about a new AC unit and pad with tidy lines baked into the image

Northwind Heating & Air Old unit yanked, new condenser sitting on a fresh pad. Lines run clean.

HVACGenerated

Copperline Plumbing

Demo brand

Generated post: a plain white service van with a roof ladder rack parked in a residential driveway at golden hour, headline about early calls meaning clean drains before noon baked into the image

Copperline Plumbing Van's loaded and we're heading out before sunrise. Drain machine, water heater tools, leak detection kit, shop towels, drop cloths.

PlumbingGenerated

Crestline Electric Co

Demo brand

Generated post: electrician tightening breakers in an open panel, headline about a Crestline panel upgrade baked into the image

Crestline Electric Co Open panel, labeled circuits, torque-tested connections. That's what a clean upgrade looks like before we close it up and call it done.

ElectricalGenerated

Mile High Tidy

Demo brand

Generated post: sunlit kitchen island and faucet after a deep clean, headline baked into the image

Mile High Tidy A clean kitchen is a quiet kitchen. No sticky counters, no cloudy faucet, no mystery crumbs under the toaster.

CleaningGenerated

Larkspur & Lane Salon

Demo brand

Generated post: stylist placing foils on a client in a salon chair, headline about balayage baked into the image

Larkspur & Lane Salon Foils and bowl, hour two of a full highlight. This is the part nobody sees on the grid.

SalonGenerated

Stillwater Aesthetics Studio

Demo brand

Generated post: client talking with a provider at a med spa front desk, headline about skin consultations baked into the image

Stillwater Aesthetics Studio Some visits start with a question. "What is this red spot?" Or "My skin has felt tight for months."

Med spaGenerated

Six demo brand posts, one per trade, each generated from a brand kit built from that demo brand's website. These are demo brands we built ourselves to show the pipeline, not customer posts.

Questions about social media AI tools

  • What is a social media AI tool, and how is it different from a scheduler?

    A scheduler arranges posts you already made on a calendar and sends them out at a set time. A social media AI tool makes the post, the caption and often the image, from what it knows about your business, and then usually schedules it too. Most products sit somewhere between the two, and the first criterion above is how to tell which side a given product leans toward.

  • Which AI tool for social media is best for a small business?

    There is no overall winner, only a count against a job. For the job this page defines, a small business that needs the post made from its own website, checked and published, ours clears every row because the rows were written around it, and the table is printed so you can strike the ones you do not need. A creator, an agency or a team living in replies will rank the same nine differently, and the verdicts say where.

  • Is there a free AI for social media that is not a trial?

    Two on this list. Buffer's free plan is permanent, with a small channel and queue limit and no media generation. Ours is permanent as well: one free campaign a week of 3 posts, 1 short video and 1 cross-post, plus 300 credits a month refilled forever, no card asked for, with media generated on the free plan watermarked. Everything else on the list is a trial with a day count, which the free-plan cells say plainly.

  • Can AI write my social media posts without making things up?

    Not on its own. It will fill gaps with the industry average, which is how a price or a service you never offered lands in a draft, and it cannot verify a number or an outcome. It stops making things up when the brand kit is specific about what you do and do not offer, and when a person reads the caption and the image together before anything publishes. The section on what AI still gets wrong lists the checks.

  • Do these tools post to Google Business Profile as well as Instagram and Facebook?

    Not all of them, and the difference matters for a local business because the business profile is what shows beside the map result. On the pages read for this list, Buffer, SocialBee, SocialPilot, ContentStudio, Predis and ours name it. Later's platform list omits it, Blaze names Google My Business on its home page but places the profile in its top managed tier on the pricing page, and Hootsuite's plans page did not mention it. The fifth column of the table carries the source for each.

  • Do I need a separate subscription for AI images and video?

    Sometimes. On the pages read for this list, only a few tools put image and video credits on the same plan card as publishing; several make captions on every plan and say nothing about media, and one prices video by the credit while leaving images unstated. Ours makes captions, images and short video on one plan, watermarked on free and clean on paid, at $49.99, $99.99 and $199.99 a month.

  • How were these nine tools checked, and when?

    Every price, plan and feature statement was read off the vendor's own pricing page or one of its own feature pages on 8 September 2026, and each claim on this page links to that source with the date beside it. Nothing was copied from another list or a review site, nothing was tested on a bench, and a page that did not state something is recorded as exactly that. Prices move, so open the vendor's page before a number decides anything for you.

Judge it on your own brand

One campaign a week is included free, forever: 3 posts, 1 short video and 1 cross-post, with 300 credits refilled monthly, no card, and approval on until you switch it off.

No account, no email, no card. One post from your own website.