Ranked for hair salons

Best social media tools for hair salons in 2026

Seven tools ranked by how much of the reveal each one gets onto the feed before a salon pays anything (the caption, the transformation image and a short video, then the publish step, on a free plan that does not expire, with watermarked media), each priced from the vendor's own page on one named date, by a company that sells one of the seven.

Ours is entry one, and it starts free: one campaign a week of 3 posts, 1 video and 1 cross-post for the first 30 days, plus 300 credits a month, then free with no end date for light use. No card asked for, and free-plan media carries a small watermark.

What actually earns a rebooking: a five-star review, or the fifteen seconds of video where a client turns to the mirror and reacts to the color? SpeedRun Social ranks first because the weeks nobody films a reveal still get a caption, an image and a short video, posted on a free plan that never runs out, with watermarked media.

The stake first: SpeedRun Social is ours, and it sits first for one reason a salon can check on the pricing page: its free plan covers the writing, the image, a short video and the posting, so a week of posts can exist before a salon pays anything. Free-plan media carries a watermark. Ocoya is second, and for a salon that is paying anyway its Bronze tier listed $15 a month billed monthly for 5 social profiles (ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026).

Most salons only ever capture the review. The camera stays off during the one moment a client already wants to watch again, which is the gap the seven tools below are ranked on closing. Before they get compared in detail, one thing belongs on the page first: whose face is in that video, and who agreed to it going up.

The seven tools, ranked by how much they cover

Every priced claim below links to the vendor page it was read from and the date it was read. Where a vendor's page rendered only one billing mode, the entry says so instead of guessing the other.

  1. SpeedRun Social

    our product

    Produces the transformation photo and the caption, then posts them

    Caption, image, video and posting on a plan with no end date

    It pulls a salon's own website into a brand kit, drafts the caption, the image and a short video together, and holds the batch in an approval queue until somebody signs off. A salon can run that on the free plan with no end date for light use, which is why this entry sits first: the writing, the making and the posting all cost nothing here, and no other entry on the list can say that without a trial window. The watermark stays on free-plan media, and nothing goes out until a social account is connected. Disclosure: this is our product, on our own list, so the free-plan claim is worth checking against the pricing page linked below.

    What SpeedRun Social costs
    Free plan: 300 credits/month and 1 free campaign/week (3 posts + 1 video + 1 cross-post) to start, then free with no end date for light use, no card required, watermarked media on free. Paid plans are $49.99, $99.99 and $199.99 a month, billed monthly only. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who SpeedRun Social is best for
    A salon that wants to watch a full week of its own posts appear before paying for anything, and that wants the mirror-turn reveal as a clip rather than a still.

    SpeedRun Social: honest limitation

    SpeedRun Social's cheapest paid plan costs more than three times Ocoya's, media generated on the free plan carries a watermark, and there is no shared inbox and no review monitoring, so a client's message about rebooking still arrives wherever it arrives now. We are the youngest product here by some margin, with a customer list you could read out in a minute, and a salon that wants software that has already survived a few busy seasons has a fair reason to start elsewhere. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  2. Ocoya

    Produces the transformation photo and the caption, then posts them

    Cheapest paid way to cover the whole week

    A finished color needs three things to become a post: the photo, the caption and somebody willing to hit publish. Ocoya bundles all three onto its cheapest tier rather than holding the last step back for a pricier plan, which makes it the cheapest paid route on this list at fifteen dollars a month, and second overall because a 7-day trial is the nearest thing to a free plan on its page.

    What Ocoya costs
    With the Monthly view selected, its pricing page listed Bronze at $15 a month for 1 workspace, 1 user, 5 social profiles and 100 credits, Silver at $39 for 5 workspaces, 5 users and 20 profiles, Gold at $79 for 20 workspaces, 20 users and 50 profiles, and Diamond at $159 for 50 users and 150 profiles, with an Enterprise tier quoted on request. A Yearly (save 20%) toggle sits beside the plan cards, and no annual dollar figure appeared anywhere in the fetched page, so none is stated here. ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Ocoya is best for
    A one or two chair salon with no real posting history that wants the whole job, photo through publish, handled for the smallest paid monthly number on this page.

    Ocoya: honest limitation

    There is no free plan, only a 7-day trial, which is a thin window for a salon to learn whether a tool fits before the next slow week arrives. Its pricing page also never mentions Google Business Profile, and for a salon that is the listing a new client is actually searching next to your reviews, so the posting this tool automates lands on the channels a salon is found on second rather than first. ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  3. Predis.ai

    Produces the transformation photo, and only the dearer tiers post it

    Most generated media per dollar, if you press publish

    Describe the color in a line of text and it returns an image, a carousel or a short video with the caption already attached, and its entry tier stretches further on generated media than anything else ranked here. Where it costs you is a tier lower than the sticker price suggests, and the limitation just below names exactly where.

    What Predis.ai costs
    With the Monthly view selected, its page listed Core at $24 a month (shown against a $32 regular figure), Rise at $55 a month ($79 regular), and Enterprise+ at $212 a month ($249 regular). Switching to Annually changed the same three to $288, $664 and $2,540 billed yearly. Core carries 1,300 credits a month, which the page translates as roughly 86 AI images or 9 videos, and prices add-ons at $5 a month for an extra brand, $5 to $99 a month for extra social channels depending on tier, and $29 a month for extra credits. predis.ai/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Predis.ai is best for
    A salon that is happy to post by hand, or that already pays for a scheduler, and wants a month of color and cut graphics for the lowest possible price.

    Predis.ai: honest limitation

    Predis.ai's cheapest tier will not post for you. Core is listed with no auto-posting alongside 1 brand and 10 channels, so automatic publishing starts at Rise, which is $55 a month billed monthly or $664 billed yearly. The pricing page shows no permanent free plan, which means the real entry price for a salon that wants this to run unattended is the Rise number rather than the Core one. predis.ai/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  4. Buffer

    Posts what somebody at the salon photographed

    Smallest step from a phone camera roll to a queue

    A calendar behind a queue, plus an AI Assistant that writes and refines the caption on every plan, free tier included. That suits a chair that already snaps the finished color on a phone before the client is even out of it: the photo travels the short distance to a schedule, and the free tier will hold one location there for good, at no charge.

    What Buffer costs
    Buffer's billing control showed Yearly selected by default: Essentials read $5 per channel per month, printed as $60 billed yearly, and Team read $10 per channel per month, printed as $120 billed yearly. No separate month-to-month figure appeared anywhere in the fetched page, so it is not stated here rather than guessed. A free forever tier covers up to 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel, 100 ideas and 1 user, and paid tiers carry a 14-day trial. buffer.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Buffer is best for
    A salon whose only real gap is that posting is manual, with no appetite for learning a second piece of software this year.

    Buffer: honest limitation

    Buffer's AI Assistant writes and refines captions on every plan, free included (buffer.com/pricing.md, read 5 October 2026), but Buffer creates no images or video, so somebody at the chair still has to shoot the finished color. Billing is per channel, so a salon with a second location's Instagram pays twice, and its pricing page states Google Business Profile as a supported channel for automatic publishing and comment replies, which is one thing it does cover well for a client searching next to your reviews. buffer.com/pricing.md, read 4 September 2026

  5. Metricool

    Posts what somebody at the salon photographed

    Scheduling plus the numbers, and Google Business named

    Analytics and competitor tracking ride along with the scheduling, and the pricing page names Google Business Profile outright. A salon that wants evidence a post actually filled a chair, not just proof it went out, ends up paying for the reporting side of this as much as the publishing side.

    What Metricool costs
    Metricool's plans page carries a Monthly and Annual (save up to 24%) toggle. With the Monthly view selected, Starter read $20 a month for up to 5 brands or $36 for up to 10, and Advanced read $53 a month for up to 15 brands, $85 for up to 25, or $159 for up to 50. No distinct annual dollar figure rendered separately in the fetched page, so it is not stated here. A free tier covers 1 brand, every network except LinkedIn and X, up to 20 scheduled posts a month, 5 competitor profiles and 30 days of analytics. metricool.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Metricool is best for
    A salon group large enough to want the numbers behind its posting, with somebody on staff willing to read the monthly report.

    Metricool: honest limitation

    Metricool makes no images or video either, and its entry ladder starts at five brands, which is more locations than most independent salons run, so the cheapest paid tier is priced for a multi-location group and sold to a single salon at the same number. The free tier caps scheduling at 20 posts a month and leaves out LinkedIn and X, neither of which most salons post to anyway. metricool.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  6. Later

    Posts what somebody at the salon photographed

    A recognizable name, priced by how many profiles you run

    One visual grid holds every post for one social set, which suits a salon that wants the whole feed to read like a single consistent wall of finished color rather than a scattershot. The entry tier is narrow: enough for one location, not much more.

    What Later costs
    Later's billing control showed Yearly selected by default: Starter read $18.75 a month billed annually, printed as $225 billed yearly, for 1 social set covering 8 profiles. Switching to Monthly changed the same tier to $25 a month billed monthly. Growth read $37.50 a month billed annually ($450 billed yearly) or $50 a month billed monthly for 2 social sets, and Scale read $82.50 a month billed annually ($990 billed yearly) or $110 a month billed monthly for 6 social sets. There is no permanent free plan, and every paid tier carries a 14-day trial. later.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Later is best for
    A single salon running one Instagram, one Facebook and a TikTok that wants a grid-first calendar and does not need Google Business Profile inside the same tool.

    Later: honest limitation

    Later's pricing page lists Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, Threads and Snapchat as supported platforms and does not list Google Business Profile among them, so the listing a new client searches next to your star rating sits outside this tool. It also generates no images and no video beyond AI captions drawn from a small monthly credit allowance, five on the Starter tier. later.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  7. Vista Social

    Posts what somebody at the salon photographed

    Handles the reviews as well, at the highest entry price

    Review tools and a shared inbox sit on its plan cards next to publishing, a pairing nothing else here offers. The measure this list uses puts it last; a measure built around answering clients would put it near the front instead, and that trade-off gets addressed head-on in the ranking section rather than buried.

    What Vista Social costs
    Vista Social's pricing page opens on the Monthly view. Professional read $79 a month billed monthly, or $63.17 a month printed as $758 billed yearly, for 15 social profiles and 2 users. Advanced read $149 a month billed monthly, or $119.17 a month printed as $1,430 billed yearly, for 30 profiles and 4 users. Scale read $349 a month billed monthly, or $303.17 a month printed as $3,638 billed yearly, for 70 profiles and 8 users. Every tier carries a 14-day trial with no credit card required. vistasocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Vista Social is best for
    A multi-chair or multi-location salon group where somebody already answers reviews and messages daily, and where the software budget is a line item rather than an afterthought.

    Vista Social: honest limitation

    There is no free plan, and $79 a month billed monthly is the highest entry price on this page, roughly five times what Ocoya asks to do the part a salon cannot do alone. Its cheapest tier is sized at 15 social profiles and 2 users, a capacity a single salon will not use, so a small shop pays for a multi-location group's shape. It also generates no images or video, and cross-platform listening beyond your own profiles sits on the plan cards as a $75 a month add-on rather than as included. vistasocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

How this list was ranked

The stake belongs ahead of the ranking, not tucked beneath it: we build SpeedRun Social, it is entry one of seven, and every tool beneath it belongs to somebody else. A salon owner reading a vendor's own roundup deserves to weigh that conflict before the order, not find it in a line underneath.

Every price quoted here came from a plain fetch of the vendor's own pricing page on 4 September 2026, nothing recycled from a review site or a competing list. Two vendors could not be quoted cleanly this way: Ocoya's page rendered only its Monthly view with no annual figure anywhere on it, and Buffer's rendered only its Yearly view with no monthly number anywhere on it, so both entries say exactly that rather than guess the missing side. Two more never made the final six: Publer's pricing pages looped through more than ten redirects and never resolved, and SocialPilot priced itself only in Indian rupees with no way to switch to dollars.

Four of the six open on their yearly-billed view rather than the pay-monthly one, and since our own ladder is quoted monthly, setting somebody's annual figure beside our monthly one would flatter their number for no good reason. Every price below says which mode it was actually read in, and says so plainly on the rare page where the other mode never rendered at all.

The order below turns on one measure specific to a chair: how much of the reveal a tool gets onto the feed before a salon pays anything, meaning the caption, the transformation image and a short video, and the publish step, on a free plan that does not expire. Cost breaks ties among tools that do all of it. At $0 for the whole job there is one entry, ours, and its free-plan media is watermarked. At $15 a month billed monthly there is Ocoya, with the photo, the caption and the posting included. Third makes the photo but keeps auto-posting a tier up. The rest wait on a photo somebody at the salon has to take first, then post whichever photo eventually arrives, free at Buffer and Metricool, paid at Later and Vista Social, with Buffer's AI Assistant writing the caption on every plan, free included.

Four tools here do something we do not, and the order hides none of it. A salon that is paying anyway can have Ocoya's Bronze tier for $15 a month billed monthly, against $49.99 a month billed monthly for our cheapest paid plan, and Buffer's Essentials tier listed $5 per channel per month billed yearly, with no month-to-month figure printed. Metricool reports on what a post did and tracks competitors, which we do not. Vista Social lists review tools and a shared inbox beside publishing, and we have neither.

Rank Vista Social last on this measure and it still earns a read: its plan cards are the only ones here that pair review tools with a shared inbox, which matters more to a salon losing rebookings to an unanswered review than to a quiet feed, and a list built around answering customers instead would put it near the top. Google Business Profile deserves the same second look in reverse: Buffer and Metricool both put it on their pricing pages, while Ocoya and Later say nothing about it at all, which counts for a new client who finds a salon by searching next to its star rating rather than by scrolling a feed.

No stars, no scores, and no count of how many salons use any of this sit anywhere on the page. September afternoon, one date, seven vendor links: check any of them whenever the number matters more than a search engine's snapshot of it does.

What to post in slow weeks

  • Post the shampoo bowl or the color bar between appointments, not only the finished chair.
  • Ask one regular if you can film thirty seconds of an ordinary appointment, not just a transformation.
  • Repost a client's own story if they tag the salon, with their permission on record first.
  • Show the product shelf and name what is actually for sale that week.
  • Turn a saved DM question into its own post instead of holding it for the next slow day.
  • Post the empty chair itself, with the open times still on it, on a week that needs the booking more than the applause.

Questions salons ask about this list

  • What is the best social media tool for hair salons?

    SpeedRun Social, our own product, for a salon that wants the reveal turned into a caption, an image and a short video, and posted without a stylist writing a word: no other tool here does all of that on a free plan that does not expire, and media on that plan is watermarked. A salon that is paying anyway will find Ocoya's Bronze tier at $15 a month billed monthly, listed for 5 social profiles and 100 credits with publishing in the same tier (ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026). A salon that already has finished-look photos and only needs them captioned and queued should look at Buffer instead.

  • What is the cheapest social media tool for hair salons?

    Of the pages read on 4 September 2026, no paid plan undercut Buffer Essentials at $5 per channel per month billed yearly, printed as $60 a year. For a salon that also needs the pictures made, our own free plan is the least it will cost, with watermarked media, and Ocoya Bronze at $15 a month billed monthly is the least once it is paying. Buffer and Metricool keep permanent free tiers rather than a trial clock, and so do we.

  • Is there a free social media tool for hair salons?

    Three of the seven never start a clock. Buffer's free plan allows up to 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel and 1 user at no cost, Metricool's allows 1 brand and up to 20 scheduled posts a month while skipping LinkedIn and X, and ours is 300 credits/month and 1 free campaign/week (3 posts + 1 video + 1 cross-post) to start, then free with no end date for light use, no card required, watermarked media on free. Buffer's free plan writes captions with its AI Assistant and posts them. Metricool only posts what a stylist brings it, and ours also makes the images and video. Everyone else runs a trial: 7 days at Ocoya, 14 at both Later and Vista Social, and Predis.ai's page names neither a free tier nor a trial length, so its cheapest plan is effectively the entry cost.

  • Which of these make the transformation photos, and which only post the ones I take?

    SpeedRun Social, Ocoya and Predis.ai generate the media. Buffer, Metricool, Later and Vista Social make no image or video, so for a salon somebody at the chair has to shoot the finished color before the client leaves. Buffer's AI Assistant writes and refines the caption on every plan, free included, and Later's page lists AI captions on a small monthly credit allowance, so the caption is the part Metricool and Vista Social leave to the salon. Predis.ai sits on the line: its Core tier makes the images but will not auto-post, so publishing starts a tier up.

  • Do any of these post to my Google Business Profile?

    This matters more for a salon than for most small businesses, since a new client is usually searching a map listing beside your star rating before ever seeing a feed. Going by the pages read on 4 September 2026, Buffer lists Google Business Profile with automatic publishing and comment replies, and Metricool lists it directly on its pricing page. Later's platform list skips it, and neither Ocoya's nor Vista Social's pricing page brings it up. Confirm the actual integration on the vendor's own documentation before this detail decides a purchase, since a pricing page and an integrations page rarely agree.

  • How much should a hair salon expect to pay?

    On the figures read on 4 September 2026, doing this properly for a salon runs somewhere between $5 and $79 a month: Buffer Essentials at $5 per channel per month billed yearly, Ocoya Bronze at $15 a month billed monthly, Metricool Starter at $20 a month billed monthly, Later Starter at $25 a month billed monthly, and Vista Social Professional at $79 a month billed monthly at the top. SpeedRun Social, our own product, for comparison: Paid plans are $49.99, $99.99 and $199.99 a month, billed monthly only. Whatever gets chosen, ask before the camera comes out, on every tier, including the free ones.

Try it on your own week

The free plans and trials above exist so a salon can put one real week through two tools and compare what comes out. Ours is the entry with no countdown on it, and every post waits for your approval until you turn that off.

Every vendor figure on this page was read on 4 September 2026. Prices move; the links exist so you can check theirs and ours.