Ranked for restaurants

Best social media tools for restaurants in 2026

Seven tools ranked by how much of the week's posting each one finishes before a restaurant pays anything (the caption, the plate image and a short video, then the publish step, on a free plan that does not expire, with watermarked media), each priced from the vendor's own page on one named date, by a company that sells one of the seven.

Ours is entry one, and it starts free: one campaign a week of 3 posts, 1 video and 1 cross-post for the first 30 days, plus 300 credits a month, then free with no end date for light use. No card asked for, and free-plan media carries a small watermark.

Picture the three photographs a restaurant actually needs each week: the plate off the pass, the room mid-rush, the special before the board gets wiped. SpeedRun Social ranks first because it writes the caption, makes the plate image and a short video, and publishes them on a free plan that does not expire, with watermarked media.

The stake first: SpeedRun Social is ours, and a kitchen that stops taking orders at ten has nobody left to shoot a plate or cut a clip. Ours is the only free plan on this list that makes the picture and a short video as well as writing the caption and posting them, so a week of posts exists before a restaurant pays anything, and the media on that plan carries a watermark. Ocoya follows at $15 a month billed monthly for the Bronze plan covering 5 social profiles (ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026).

Miss all three on a slow Tuesday and the account goes dark until the weekend rescues it, which is the exact gap the seven tools below are ranked on closing. Every price past this paragraph was read straight off the vendor's own page on 4 September 2026; before any of them, here is what that week actually looks like inside a kitchen that stops taking orders at ten.

What a realistic week looks like

A dinner service does not leave a natural gap for marketing. The photo worth posting happens at expo, between tickets, and the person best placed to take it is holding two plates at the time. So the realistic week runs backward from close: whatever gets shot on the pass during service gets written up and queued after close, not during it, which is exactly why the tools graded lowest below are the ones that leave the most of that after-close work standing.

Seven posts is a fair target most weeks: one shot of the plate, one of the room, one about the special, and whatever is left over for a slow night when nothing on the pass was worth photographing at all. A tool that drafts the caption from the photo on its own removes the one step a closing manager has no attention left for at eleven at night. A tool that only schedules still needs somebody to have written that caption earlier in the day, while the kitchen was still open.

The seven tools, ranked by how much they cover

Every priced claim below links to the vendor page it was read from and the date it was read. Where a vendor's page rendered only one billing mode, the entry says so instead of guessing the other.

  1. SpeedRun Social

    our product

    Produces the plate photo and the caption, then posts them

    The whole week of posts, free, with no countdown

    It reads a restaurant's own website into a brand kit, then drafts the caption, the plate image and a short video as a set and parks all three in an approval queue until somebody releases them. On a free plan that does not expire, that is a full week of posting before any bill exists, which is why it sits first: no other entry here writes, makes and publishes without a trial clock or a charge. Free-plan media is watermarked, and nothing publishes until a social account is connected. Disclosure: this is our product, on our own list, so check the free-plan claim against the pricing page linked below.

    What SpeedRun Social costs
    Free plan: 300 credits/month and 1 free campaign/week (3 posts + 1 video + 1 cross-post) to start, then free with no end date for light use, no card required, watermarked media on free. Paid plans are $49.99, $99.99 and $199.99 a month, billed monthly only. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who SpeedRun Social is best for
    A restaurant that wants to watch a full week of its own posts appear before paying for anything, and that wants a reel from the room rather than stills alone.

    SpeedRun Social: honest limitation

    SpeedRun Social's cheapest paid plan costs more than three times Ocoya's, media generated on the free plan carries a watermark, and there is no shared inbox and no review monitoring, so a diner's message about a reservation still arrives wherever it arrives now. We are the youngest product here by some margin, with a customer list you could read out in a minute, and a restaurant that wants software that has already survived a few busy seasons has a fair reason to start elsewhere. speedrunsocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  2. Ocoya

    Produces the plate photo and the caption, then posts them

    Cheapest paid plan that covers the whole week

    Ocoya bundles the image, the caption and the publish step on its cheapest tier, rather than holding the last of those back for a pricier plan, which matters most in a kitchen where the marketing budget is whatever survives payroll. It ranks second because its page lists no free plan, only a 7-day trial, and it is the cheapest paid way on this list to cover the whole week.

    What Ocoya costs
    With the Monthly view selected, its pricing page listed Bronze at $15 a month for 1 workspace, 1 user, 5 social profiles and 100 credits, Silver at $39 for 5 workspaces, 5 users and 20 profiles, Gold at $79 for 20 workspaces, 20 users and 50 profiles, and Diamond at $159 for 50 users and 150 profiles, with an Enterprise tier quoted on request. A Yearly (save 20%) toggle sits beside the plan cards, and no annual dollar figure appeared anywhere in the fetched page, so none is stated here. ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Ocoya is best for
    A single-location restaurant with no history of posting that wants the entire job, photo through publish, handled for the smallest paid monthly number on this page.

    Ocoya: honest limitation

    There is no free plan, only a 7-day trial, which is a thin window for a restaurant to learn whether a tool fits before the next slow Tuesday arrives. Its pricing page also never mentions Google Business Profile, and for a restaurant that is the listing a hungry, nearby diner is actually searching, so the posting this tool automates lands on the channels a restaurant is found on second rather than first. ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  3. Predis.ai

    Produces the plate photo, and only the dearer tiers post it

    Most generated media per dollar, if you press publish

    Type up a line about tonight's special and it comes back as an image, a carousel or a short video with the caption attached, and its entry tier stretches further on generated media than anything else ranked here. The catch sits one tier down in the price list, not in the headline number, and the limitation beside this names exactly where.

    What Predis.ai costs
    With the Monthly view selected, its page listed Core at $24 a month (shown against a $32 regular figure), Rise at $55 a month ($79 regular), and Enterprise+ at $212 a month ($249 regular). Switching to Annually changed the same three to $288, $664 and $2,540 billed yearly. Core carries 1,300 credits a month, which the page translates as roughly 86 AI images or 9 videos, and prices add-ons at $5 a month for an extra brand, $5 to $99 a month for extra social channels depending on tier, and $29 a month for extra credits. predis.ai/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Predis.ai is best for
    A restaurant that is happy to post by hand, or that already pays for a scheduler, and wants a month of plate and dining-room graphics for the lowest possible price.

    Predis.ai: honest limitation

    Predis.ai's cheapest tier will not post for you. Core is listed with no auto-posting alongside 1 brand and 10 channels, so automatic publishing starts at Rise, which is $55 a month billed monthly or $664 billed yearly. The pricing page shows no permanent free plan, which means the real entry price for a restaurant that wants this to run unattended is the Rise number rather than the Core one. predis.ai/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  4. Buffer

    Posts what somebody at the restaurant photographed

    Smallest step from a phone camera roll to a queue

    A calendar and a queue, plus an AI Assistant that writes and refines the caption on every plan, with almost nothing else standing between the two. For a kitchen that already has somebody shooting the plate on a phone, this is the shortest hop from that photo to a posting schedule, and its free tier will carry one location for as long as the restaurant wants it to, at no cost.

    What Buffer costs
    Buffer's billing control showed Yearly selected by default: Essentials read $5 per channel per month, printed as $60 billed yearly, and Team read $10 per channel per month, printed as $120 billed yearly. No separate month-to-month figure appeared anywhere in the fetched page, so it is not stated here rather than guessed. A free forever tier covers up to 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel, 100 ideas and 1 user, and paid tiers carry a 14-day trial. buffer.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Buffer is best for
    A restaurant whose only real gap is that posting is manual, and that has no appetite for learning a second piece of software this year.

    Buffer: honest limitation

    Buffer's AI Assistant writes and refines captions on every plan, free included (buffer.com/pricing.md, read 5 October 2026), but Buffer creates no images or video, so somebody at the restaurant still has to shoot the plate. Billing is per channel, so a restaurant that adds a second location's Instagram pays twice, and its pricing page states Google Business Profile as a supported channel for automatic publishing and comment replies, which is one thing it does cover well for a diner searching nearby. buffer.com/pricing.md, read 4 September 2026

  5. Metricool

    Posts what somebody at the restaurant photographed

    Scheduling plus the numbers, and Google Business named

    Scheduling comes bundled with analytics and competitor tracking, and Google Business Profile gets a line on the pricing page itself. A restaurant that wants proof a post moved covers, not just confirmation it went out, is paying for the reporting half of this as much as the publishing half.

    What Metricool costs
    Metricool's plans page carries a Monthly and Annual (save up to 24%) toggle. With the Monthly view selected, Starter read $20 a month for up to 5 brands or $36 for up to 10, and Advanced read $53 a month for up to 15 brands, $85 for up to 25, or $159 for up to 50. No distinct annual dollar figure rendered separately in the fetched page, so it is not stated here. A free tier covers 1 brand, every network except LinkedIn and X, up to 20 scheduled posts a month, 5 competitor profiles and 30 days of analytics. metricool.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Metricool is best for
    A restaurant group large enough to want the numbers behind its posting, with somebody on staff who will actually read the monthly report.

    Metricool: honest limitation

    Metricool makes no images or video either, and its entry ladder starts at five brands, which is more locations than most restaurants run, so the cheapest paid tier is priced for a multi-unit group and sold to a single dining room at the same number. The free tier caps scheduling at 20 posts a month and leaves out LinkedIn and X, neither of which a restaurant is likely to miss. metricool.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  6. Later

    Posts what somebody at the restaurant photographed

    A recognizable name, priced by how many profiles you run

    Built around one visual grid per social set, which suits a kitchen that wants its whole feed to read as a single, tidy plating reel rather than a scattershot of posts. Its entry tier is sized tight: room for one location and little beyond it.

    What Later costs
    Later's billing control showed Yearly selected by default: Starter read $18.75 a month billed annually, printed as $225 billed yearly, for 1 social set covering 8 profiles. Switching to Monthly changed the same tier to $25 a month billed monthly. Growth read $37.50 a month billed annually ($450 billed yearly) or $50 a month billed monthly for 2 social sets, and Scale read $82.50 a month billed annually ($990 billed yearly) or $110 a month billed monthly for 6 social sets. There is no permanent free plan, and every paid tier carries a 14-day trial. later.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Later is best for
    A single restaurant running one Instagram, one Facebook and a TikTok that wants a grid-first calendar and does not need Google Business Profile inside the same tool.

    Later: honest limitation

    Later's pricing page lists Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, Threads and Snapchat as supported platforms and does not list Google Business Profile among them, so the listing a hungry diner searches sits outside this tool. It also generates no images and no video beyond AI captions drawn from a small monthly credit allowance, five on the Starter tier. later.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

  7. Vista Social

    Posts what somebody at the restaurant photographed

    Handles the reviews as well, at the highest entry price

    The only plan cards on this page that name review tools and a shared inbox next to publishing. This list ranks it last on the rule it uses, and a list built around answering diners instead would put it near the top, which the ranking section below addresses directly rather than glossing over.

    What Vista Social costs
    Vista Social's pricing page opens on the Monthly view. Professional read $79 a month billed monthly, or $63.17 a month printed as $758 billed yearly, for 15 social profiles and 2 users. Advanced read $149 a month billed monthly, or $119.17 a month printed as $1,430 billed yearly, for 30 profiles and 4 users. Scale read $349 a month billed monthly, or $303.17 a month printed as $3,638 billed yearly, for 70 profiles and 8 users. Every tier carries a 14-day trial with no credit card required. vistasocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026
    Who Vista Social is best for
    A multi-location restaurant group where somebody already answers reviews and messages daily, and where the software budget is a line item rather than an afterthought.

    Vista Social: honest limitation

    There is no free plan, and $79 a month billed monthly is the highest entry price on this page, roughly five times what Ocoya asks to do the part a restaurant cannot do alone. Its cheapest tier is sized at 15 social profiles and 2 users, a capacity a single dining room will not use, so a one-location restaurant pays for a multi-unit group's shape. It also generates no images or video, and cross-platform listening beyond your own profiles sits on the plan cards as a $75 a month add-on rather than as included. vistasocial.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026

At a glance

ToolBest atEntry price
SpeedRun Social(ours)The whole week of posts, free, with no countdownFree to start, then $49.99/mo billed monthly
OcoyaCheapest paid plan that covers the whole week$15/mo billed monthly
Predis.aiMost generated media per dollar, if you press publish$24/mo billed monthly
BufferSmallest step from a phone camera roll to a queue$5/mo per channel billed yearly
MetricoolScheduling plus the numbers, and Google Business named$20/mo billed monthly
LaterA recognizable name, priced by how many profiles you run$18.75/mo billed annually
Vista SocialHandles the reviews as well, at the highest entry price$79/mo billed monthly

How this list was ranked

Here is the stake, ahead of the ranking rather than beneath it: we build SpeedRun Social, it is entry one of seven on this list, and none of the other six is ours. A restaurant reading a vendor's own roundup should get to weigh that conflict before the order, not find it in a line underneath.

Every price quoted here came from a plain fetch of the vendor's own pricing page on 4 September 2026, nothing recycled from a review site or a rival list. Two vendors could not be quoted cleanly this way: Ocoya's page rendered only its Monthly view with no annual figure anywhere on it, and Buffer's rendered only its Yearly view with no monthly number anywhere on it, so both entries say exactly that instead of guessing the missing side. Two more never made the cut at all: Publer's pricing pages looped through more than ten redirects and never resolved, and SocialPilot's page priced itself only in Indian rupees with no way to switch to dollars.

Four of the six default to their yearly-billed view rather than the pay-as-you-go one, and since our own ladder is quoted monthly, letting somebody's annual number stand in for their monthly one would flatter the annual quote for no reason. Every price below names the mode it was actually read in, and says so plainly on the rare page where the other mode simply refused to show up.

The rule is written for a kitchen with no free hand during service. The order runs on how much of the week's posting a tool finishes before a restaurant pays anything: the caption, the plate image and a short video, and the publish step, on a free plan that does not expire. Price comes second and only matters between tools that finish the job. Nobody else here gets all of it done for $0, so SpeedRun Social is first, with a watermark on its free-plan media. Ocoya covers the picture, the caption and the posting from $15 a month billed monthly and takes second. Predis.ai makes the media but keeps publishing one tier up, which puts it third. The last four publish the plate photos somebody at the restaurant took, free at Buffer and Metricool, paid at Later and Vista Social, with Buffer's AI Assistant writing the caption on every plan, free included.

Four tools on this list beat us at something. If a restaurant is paying anyway, Ocoya's Bronze tier at $15 a month billed monthly costs less than our cheapest paid plan at $49.99 a month billed monthly, and Buffer's Essentials tier listed $5 per channel per month billed yearly, with no month-to-month figure on its page. Metricool pairs the posting with analytics and competitor tracking, and we ship neither. Vista Social is the only entry that bundles review tools and a shared inbox with publishing, and we have no shared inbox and no review monitoring.

Rank Vista Social last on this rule and it still deserves a read: its plan cards are the only ones here that bundle review tools with a shared inbox, which matters more to a restaurant losing covers to an unanswered one-star review than to a quiet feed, and a list built around answering customers instead would put it near the top. Google Business Profile earns the same second look in reverse. Buffer and Metricool both name it on their own pricing pages, Later leaves it off its platform list, and Ocoya's page never mentions it at all, which counts for a diner who finds a kitchen by searching rather than scrolling.

Nothing on this page carries a star, a score, or a headcount of restaurants that use any of it. Every figure was accurate on one afternoon in September; the vendor's own link sits beside each one so you can check whether it still is before it decides anything.

Questions restaurants ask about this list

  • What is the best social media tool for restaurants?

    SpeedRun Social, our own product, because nobody on a restaurant line has a free hand to shoot a plate during service, and ours is the only tool here that still writes the caption, makes the plate image and a short video, and publishes, all on a free plan that does not expire, with watermarked media. If you are paying anyway, Ocoya's Bronze tier listed $15 a month billed monthly for 5 social profiles and 100 credits, with publishing bundled into that same tier (ocoya.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026). A restaurant that already has plate photos on hand and only needs them captioned and queued should look at Buffer instead.

  • What is the cheapest social media tool for restaurants?

    Across the pages read on 4 September 2026, Buffer Essentials was the cheapest paid plan at $5 per channel per month billed yearly, printed as $60 a year. If the pictures need making too, our own free plan is the cheapest way, with watermarked media, and Ocoya Bronze at $15 a month billed monthly is the least a restaurant will pay once it is paying. Buffer and Metricool are the other two that keep a permanent free tier instead of a countdown.

  • Is there a free social media tool for restaurants?

    Three of the seven never start a clock. Buffer's free tier covers up to 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel and 1 user, Metricool's covers 1 brand and up to 20 scheduled posts a month while leaving out LinkedIn and X, and ours is 300 credits/month and 1 free campaign/week (3 posts + 1 video + 1 cross-post) to start, then free with no end date for light use, no card required, watermarked media on free. Only ours, of those three, also makes the images and video. Everyone else runs on a trial instead: 7 days at Ocoya, 14 at both Later and Vista Social, and Predis.ai names neither a free plan nor a trial length on its pricing page, so treat its cheapest tier as the real cost of entry.

  • Which of these make the food photos, and which only post the ones I take?

    SpeedRun Social, Ocoya and Predis.ai generate the media themselves. Buffer makes no image or video, though its AI Assistant writes and refines the caption on every plan, free included, so somebody at the pass still has to shoot the plate. Metricool and Vista Social publish whatever you hand them, which for most restaurants means somebody at the pass has to shoot the plate and write the first draft of the caption, and Later adds AI captions from a small monthly credit allowance but generates no images or video. Predis.ai sits between the two camps: its Core tier makes the images, but automatic posting is switched off there and only turns on a tier higher.

  • Do any of these post to my Google Business Profile?

    This matters more for a restaurant than for most trades, since a hungry diner nearby is searching a map listing before they ever scroll a feed. Going by the pages read on 4 September 2026, Buffer names Google Business Profile with automatic publishing and comment replies, and Metricool names it directly on its pricing page, while Later's platform list has no line for it and neither does Ocoya's or Vista Social's. Confirm the actual integration on the vendor's own documentation before this detail decides a purchase, because a pricing page and an integrations page rarely agree.

  • How much should a restaurant expect to pay?

    On the figures read on 4 September 2026, doing this properly runs a restaurant somewhere between $5 and $79 a month: Buffer Essentials at $5 per channel per month billed yearly, Ocoya Bronze at $15 a month billed monthly, Metricool Starter at $20 a month billed monthly, Later Starter at $25 a month billed monthly, and Vista Social Professional at $79 a month billed monthly at the top. SpeedRun Social, our own product, for comparison: Paid plans are $49.99, $99.99 and $199.99 a month, billed monthly only. Whichever tool ends up running the account, the table above lists all seven side by side, entry price next to entry price.

Try it on your own week

The free plans and trials above exist so a restaurant can put one real week through two tools and compare what comes out. Ours is the entry with no countdown on it, and every post waits for your approval until you turn that off.

Every vendor figure on this page was read on 4 September 2026. Prices move; the links exist so you can check theirs and ours.